Skip to main content

Inaugural National Convenor of NACBCS/ACCS Receives Queens Birthday Honour

By 28 June 2022No Comments

Professor Deborah Brennan was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to social policy research, to gender equality and to tertiary education.
Professor Brennan is one of Australia’s leading researchers in comparative welfare, family policy and gender and politics. She is the author of The Politics of Australian Child Care and has advised the Australian and UK governments on the development of policies for families and children.

Dr Brennan has been professor emerita at UNSW’s Social Policy Research Centre since 2019, where she worked in the department for 15 years. She was the Inaugural Convenor of the National Association of Community Based Children’s Services (NABCBS) and is a former President of the Australian Political Science Association.

Other recipients in 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honour List for service to early and middle childhood services are Ms Robyn Monro Miller, current President of the International Play Association and a long time advocate for outside school hours care (OSHC), Professor Leslie Loble, Co-Chair of the Council on Early Childhood Development and Judith Atkinson, the current vice president and past president of the Australian Childcare Alliance.

Mrs Elaine Duyvestyn, Ms Leanne Mits and Dr Sally Murphy also received a Medal of the Order of Australia (AM) for their contribution to early childhood education in their communities.

Source: The Sector newsletter, Thursday June 16 2022